Fattah, Scott, Bennie T Named to Gun Violence Task Force

Fattah, Scott, Bennie T Named to Gun Violence Task Force

Reps. Chaka Fattah (D-PA), Bennie Thompson (D-MS), and Bobby Scott (D-VA) have been name vice chairs of the Congressional Gun Violence Prevention Task Force. There are 12 vice chairs in all. California Congressman Mike Thompson announced their selection this week. The gun violence task force will have a month of hearings and meetings with experts on the issues surrounding gun violence in America. They will study the best policies to reduce gun violence and release their recommendations in less than thirty days.

The task force was established by House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi after the Newtown Elementary School massacre — 26 people were shot to death.

The nine other vice chairs are Reps. Jackie Speier, Grace Napolitano, Ron Barber, John D. Dingell, Bill Enyart, Elizabeth Esty, Chaka Fattah, Carolyn McCarthy, Ed Perlmutter, David Price, Bobby Scott and Bennie Thompson.

“In the 112th Congress, Rep. Scott cosponsored H.R. 308, the Large Capacity Ammunition Feeding Device Act, H.R. 1781, the Fix Gun Checks Act, and H.R. 2554, the Stop Gun Trafficking and Strengthen Law Enforcement Act,” said a release from Scott’s office.

Rep. Mike Thompson’s press release stated that Fattah was a, “major supporter of the ATF, is deeply involved in issues dealing with firearms, public safety and law enforcement. In Philadelphia, he created the successful gun buyback “Groceries for Guns” program that has removed thousands of dangerous, unwanted firearms from streets and homes of Philadelphians in exchange for grocery coupons.”