36 CBCers Vote NO, Only 2 Vote YES on Budget “Shutdown-Deal”

CBC Approps guys Bishop + Fattah

Sanford Bishop, Chaka Fattah were the only twomembers of the CBC who voted for the Obama-Boehner-Reis shutdown-deal budget of last week.  The deal may have averted a government shutdown but it kicked off bi-partisan dislike.  The Dems thought it cut too much and the Rs felt it cut too little. Accordingly, GOPers Allen West and Tim Scott joined the majority of CBC members voting no. Both Reps. Bishop and Fattah are members of House Appropriations.

The budget “shutdown-deal” vote that created $38 billion in cuts was not a hit with members of the Congressional Black Caucus. With cuts to Pell Grants, community block grants and community health care centers, CBC members knew their constituents would be effected adversely by the cuts.

Karen Bass (CA), GK Butterfield, Andre Carson (IN), Hansen Clarke (MI), Yvette Clarke (NY), Lacy Clay, Emanuel Cleaver, Jim Clyburn, John Conyers, Elijah Cummings, Danny Davis (IL), Donna Edwards, Keith Ellison, Marcia Fudge, Al Green, Alcee Hastings (FL), Jesse Jackson (IL), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX), Eddie Bernice Johnson, Barbara Lee (CA), John Lewis (GA), Gwen Moore, Don Payne, Charlie Rangel, Laura Richardson, Cedric Richmond, Bobby Rush, Tim Scott (SC), Bobby Scott (VA), Bennie Thompson (MS), Ed Towns, Maxine Waters, Mel Watt, Allen West and Frederica Wilson (FL).

When a piece of legislation is disliked by many that dislike crosses over to both sides of the isle. The CBC was joined in their NO vote against the budget deal by Nancy Pelosi and GOPers Michelle Bachmann and Jim Jordan.

Delegates. Donna Christensen and Eleanor Holmes Norton can not vote.  Rep. Greg Meeks was the only CBCer not voting.