Marcia Fudge Elected 23rd Chair of the CBC

Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-OH) was elected the new Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus today at the Caucus’ weekly meeting on Capitol Hill. The vote was unanimous. Rep. Fudge will serve as the Caucus’ twenty-third Chair. She will be the seventh woman to serve in the position following Reps. Yvonne Burke (1976-77), Cardiss Collins (1979-81), Maxine Waters (1997-99), Eddie Bernice Johnson (2001-03), Carolyn Kilpatrick 2007-09) and Barbara Lee (2009-11).

The CBC holds an election of a new Chair at the end of every Congress. Rep. Fudge will serve as the Chair during the 113th Congress from January 2013 to December 2014.
Rep. G.K. Butterfield (D-NC) was elected as the first vice-chairman, Rep. Andre Carson (D-IN) was elected as the CBC’s secretary and Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA) will become the CBC’s whip.
Fudge succeeds Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO) whose reign as Black Caucus chair was quite eventful. Under the leadership of Cleaver, the CBC held a jobs tour and a summit with faith leaders on voter protection. Cleaver also navigated tricky dealings with the Obama Administration.