@ColorofChange to 10 in Black Caucus: Stop Opposing to Net Neutrality

@ColorofChange to 10 in Black Caucus: Stop Opposing to Net Neutrality

Color of Change is focused on 10 members of the Black Caucus who are opposed to net neutrality.  The members signed a letter to the FCC attacking net neutrality.   Color of Change is inviting people to sign a petition and Tell Black members of Congress: stop attacking Internet freedom.

“Big cable and phone companies have spent millions to influence the Congressional Black Caucus… join us in demanding they stop,” the petition reads.  The ten members Colorof Change is focused on are Reps. Bobby Rush, G.K. Butterfield, Sanford color3Bishop, Corrine Brown, Lacy Clay, Alcee Hastings, Greg Meeks, David Scott, Bennie Thompson, and Marc Veasey.

Net neutrality on the internet has meant that a random blogger anywhere online has the same power and internet speeds as big corporations.

Big corporations don’t like it.  They’d rather have the ability to control the speed of content of some customers and charge them more for moving content.

The Color of Change petition commends CBC members who are “fighting to protect” net neutrality.  

“Thankfully, some Black members of Congress are fighting to protect net neutrality — Rep. Keith Ellison co-authored a letter to the FCC supporting reclassification, and it was signed by Reps. Barbara Lee, John Lewis, John Conyers, Donna Edwards, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Charlie Rangel, Bobby Scott, and Andre Carson.”

The fight over net neutrality shows the power of the cable industry and money in politics in general.  Comcast, Verizon, AT&T and Time Warner.